Woodward Trophy

Best Actress in a Leading Role

updated June 25, 2021

Year	Winner	Role	Group	City	Play	Author
2021			NO FESTIVAL WAS HELD		(Covid Pandemic)	
2020			NO FESTIVAL WAS HELD		(Covid Pandemic)	
2019	Keyanna Burgher	Cathy Hiatt	Moose Jaw Community Players	Moose Jaw	The Last Five Years	Jason Robert Brown
2018	Sharon Pope	Connie Harland	Tumbleweed Theatre	Balgonie	Exit Laughing	Paul Elliott
2017	Linda Jacobson	Hilda Fluck	Cochin Community Players	Cochin	Hilda's Yard	Norm Foster
2016	Pam Milani Teresa Weber Amber Matechuk Leanne Keys	Erika Agatha Jessica Grace	Paper Bag Players	Yorkton	Hold Please	Annie Weisman
2015	Teresa Weber	Mrs. Reece	Paper Bag Players	Yorkton	The Farndale Avenue House Estate Townswomen's Guild Dramatic Society Murder Mystery	David McGillivray and Walter Zerlin Jr.
2014	Lynda Lyon- Walls	Alice	Battlefords Community Players	The Battlefords	Sexy Laundry	Michele Riml
2013	Joanne Matsalla	Molly Graham, Sandra, Delores, Claire, & Shirley	Swift Current Little Theatre	Swift Current	Old Love	Norm Foster
2012	Jill Radwanski	Joanie	Valley Players	Fort Qu'Appelle	Footprints on the Moon	Maureen Hunter
2011	Lorna Batycki	Jenny, Grace, Mabel, Reed, Liz, Gertrude Stein, Rosa Lowenstein	Saskatoon Ageless Players	Saskatoon	Girl Talk	Dori Appel & Carolyn L. Myers
2010	Bonnie Senger	Mrs. Bennet	Regina Little Theatre	Regina	Pride and Prejudice	Jon Jury
2009	Jill Radwanski	Catherine	Valley Players	Fort Qu'Appelle	Proof	David Auburn
2008	Sarah Dymund	Alison	Battlefords Community Players	The Battlefords	You Are Here	Daniel MacIvor
2007			NO FESTIVAL WAS HELD		(Not enough entries)	
2006	Laura Burgart	Margaret MacNeil	Moose Jaw Community Players	Moose Jaw	The Glace Bay Miners' Museum: a stage play based on the novel by Sheldon Currie	Wendy Lil
2005	Tamara Hall Marilyn Kuntz	Maude Mix Hannah Mae Bindler	Paper Bag Players	Yorkton	A Coupla White Chicks Sitting Around Talking	John Ford Noonan
2004	Tamara Hall	Maureen Cooper	Paper Bag Players	Yorkton	The Tomorrow Box	Anne Chislett

Ι.			D () ()			
2003	Lynda Lyon- Walls	Ida	Battlefords Community Players	The Battlefords	The Cemetary Club	Ivan Menchell
2002	Leanne Peters Valerie Elder	Becky Maggie	Humboldt Community Players	Humboldt	The Men Commandments	Sarah Quick
2001		Alice	Crocus 80	Weyburn	Who's On First	Jack Sharkey
	Karen Williams	Marlene		Milestone	A Kiss on the Bottom	Frank Vickery
1999	Claire Hurst	-	Saskatoon Gateway Players	Saskatoon	Tomfoolery	Tom Lehrer
1998	Lorna Batycki	Rivka	Saskatoon Ageless Players	Saskatoon	In the Cards	Caroline Russell-King
1997	Chrisse Bornstein	Marian Raymond	Saskatoon Gateway Players	Saskatoon	The Stillborn Lover	Timothy Findley
1997	Joan Short	Junie Moon	Prince Albert Community Players	Prince Albert	Tell Me That You Love Me Junie Moon	D.D. Brooke
		Elizabeth Caulder	Chocolate Moose Theatre, Inc.	Moose Jaw	Pink Thunderbird	James McLure
1995	Christine Trapp	Mary Rose	Regina Little Theatre	Regina	Mary Rose	J.M. Barrie
1994	Betty Woods	Mrs. Reece	Melfort Amateur Dramatics	Melfort	The Farndale Avenue House Estate Townswomen's Guild Dramatic Society Murder Mystery	David McGillivray and Walter Zerlin Jr.
1993	Michelle Wilsdon	Bob	Saskatoon Gateway Players	Saskatoon	Doc	Sharon Pollock
1993	Bonnie Senger	Anne Sullivan	Regina Little Theatre	Regina	The Miracle Worker	William Gibson
1992	Karen Williams	Virginia	Milestone Prairie Players	Milestone	Lie, Cheat and Genuflect	William Van Zandt & Jane Milmore
1991	Karen Williams	Edith Lambert	Milestone Prairie Players	Milestone	Never Too Late	Sumner Arthur Long
1990	Jean Lavior	Margaret Garrison	Regina Little Theatre	Regina	I Never Sang for my Father	R. Anderson
1989	Linda Erickson Judy Toews Margo Day	Anna-Marie	Snakebite Players	Beechy	The Ship Builder	Ken Mitchell
1988	Michelle Waldbillig	Tilda	Melfort Amateur Dramatics	Melfort	Echoes	Richard Nash
1987	Lori Dean French Kathy Sudom Young	Dr. Martha Livingstone Agnes	Moose Jaw Community Players	Moose Jaw	Agnes of God	John Pielmeier
1986	Kathy Young	Vivien Bliss	Moose Jaw Community Players	Moose Jaw	Nurse Jane Goes to Hawaii	Allan Stratton
1005	Lori Dean	Sheila	Moose Jaw Community Players	Moose Jaw	A Day in the Death of Joe Egg	Peter Nichols
1985			,			
1984	Margaret Woodward	Esther Crampton Eulalie	Regina Little Theatre Unithèâtre	Regina	Morning's at Seven	Paul Osborn

1982	Florence Barnsley	Catharine Holly	Saskatoon Gateway Players	Saskatoon	Suddenly Last Summer	Tennessee Williams
1981	Rosemary Hunt	Lady Sheila Boothroyd	Saskatoon Gateway Players	Saskatoon	Lloyd George Knew my Father	William Douglas Home
1980	Patricia Heighes	Lady Lucy Angkatell	Saskatoon Gateway Players	Saskatoon	The Hollow	Agatha Christie
1980	Margaret Fraser	Maggie	Regina Little Theatre	Regina	The Shadow Box	Michael Cristofer
1979	Joan Coggins	Ursula Westaby	Regina Little Theatre	Regina	There Goes the Bride	Ray Cooney & John Chapman
1978	Morag Kelsall	Jill Tanner	Regina Little Theatre	Regina	Butterflies are Free	Leonard Gersche
1977	Rosemary Hunt	Sheila	Saskatoon Gateway Players	Saskatoon	A Day in the Death of Joe Egg	Peter Nichols
1976	Joan Coggins		Saskatoon Gateway Players	Saskatoon	The Gingerbread Lady	Neil Simon
1975	Irene Smith	Joanna Markham	Regina Little Theatre	Regina	Move Over Mrs. Markham	Ray Cooney & John Chapman
1974	Suzanne Kushner	Madge	Swift Current Little Theatre	Swift Current	Phildelphia Here I Come!	Brian Friel
1973	Anne Marie Conkin Brenda Nicolson	Helen, Annie Sullivan	Battlefords Community Players	The Battlefords	The Miracle Worker	William Gibson
1972	Ann Moon	Eleanor	Prince Albert Community Players	Prince Albert	The Lion in Winter	James Coldman
1971	Maureen Olson	Carol Melkett	Gateway Players	Saskatoon	White Liars & Black Comedy	Peter Shaffer
1970	Denise Jetstadt	Martha	Regina Little Theatre	Regina	Who's Afraid of Virginia Woolf?	Edward Albee
1969	Hetty Clews	Anna	Saskatoon Gateway Players	Saskatoon	The Inspector General	Nickolai Gogal, translated by R. Saffron
1968	Rosemary Hunt	Mrs. Margery Pinchwife	Gateway Theatre	Saskatoon	The Country Wife	William Wycherley
1967	Not awarded					
1966	Vickie Charnetsky	Lotus Blossom	Gateway Theatre	Saskatoon	Teahouse of the August Moon	John Patrick
1965			NO FESTIVAL WAS HELD		(Not enough entries)	
1964	Roberta Kinnon	Hippolyte	Regina Little Theatre	Regina	Rape of the Belt	Benn. W. Levy
1963	Dawnie Scarfe	Elmire	Stage 8	Saskatoon	Tartuffe	Moliere
1962	Jay Kirby	Katrina of Aragon	Regina Little Theatre	Regina	Royal Gambit	Herman Gressieker
1961	Olive Beattie	Content Lowell	Swift Current Little Theatre	Swift Current	Marriage-Go-Round	Leslie Stevens
1960	Ann Sutherland	Mary Macdonald	Regina Little Theatre	Regina	The Blood is Strong	Lister Sinclair
1959	Terry Le Claire	Sister Mary	Swift Current Little Theatre	Swift Current	High Ground	Charlotte Hastings