S.J. Safian Trophy

Best Actor in a Leading Role

updated June 25, 2021

Year	Winner	Role	Group	City	Play	Author
2021			NO FESTIVAL WAS HELD		(Covid Pandemic)	
2020			NO FESTIVAL WAS HELD		(Covid Pandemic)	
2019	Darrell Yates	Austin	Battlefords Community Players	The Battlefords	True West	Sam Shepard
2018	John Kort	David Kilbride	Indian Head Stage Left Players	Indian Head	On a First Name Basis	Norm Foster
2017	Emery Nelson	Leon	Melfort Amateur Dramatics	Melfort	The Love List	Norm Foster
2016	Clint Barrett	Petruchio	Battlefords Community Players	The Battlefords	The Shrew	Charles Morowitz
2016	Jake Heisler	Robert Castle	Moose Jaw Community Players	Moose Jaw	Kiss the Moon, Kiss the Sun	Norm Foster
2015	Ian Dickson	Davey Carlin	Smokescreen Productions	Prince Albert	The Mighty Carlins	Collin Doyle
2014	Jim Walls	Henry	Battlefords Community Players	The Battlefords	Sexy Laundry	Michele Riml
2013	Patrick French	George Trenton	Moose Jaw Community Players	Moose Jaw	Roses In November	Neville J. Bryant
2012	Brad McDougall	Sidney Bruhl	Regina Little Theatre	Regina	Death Trap	Ira Levin
2011	Ken Spencer	Lloyd Dallas	Regina Little Theatre	Regina	Noises Off	Michael Frayn
2010	Rick Kostiuk	James	Battlefords Community Players	The Battlefords	Speak	Greg Nelson
2009	Jim Walls	Judge Biddle	Battlefords Community Players	The Battlefords	Trying	Joanna McClelland Glass
2008	Jim Walls	Richard	Battlefords Community Players	The Battlefords	You Are Here	Daniel MacIvor
2007			NO FESTIVAL WAS HELD		(Not enough entries)	
2006	Tom Green	Neil Currie	Moose Jaw Community Players	Moose Jaw	The Glace Bay Miners' Museum: a stage play based on the novel by Sheldon Currie	Wendy Lil
2005	Larry Fitzgerald	Francis Oberon	Saskatoon Gateway Players	Saskatoon	We Must Kill Toni	Ian Stuart Black
2004	Joe Wills	Esau Mercer	Chocolate Moose Theatre, Inc.	Moose Jaw	Soldier's Heart	David French
2003	Bruce Rayner	Donnie	Swift Current Little Theatre	Swift Current	The Foursome	Norm Foster
2002	Paul Hack	Norman Thayer Jr.	Dodsland Community Players	Dodsland	On Golden Pond	Ernest Thompson
2001	Jim Hadfield	Ross Cameron	Milestone Prairie Players	Milestone	The Hand That Cradles the Rock	Warren Graves
2000	Brian Dueck	Garry aka Roger	Swift Current Little Theatre	Swift Current	Noises Off	Michael Frayn
1999	Ken Spencer	Thomas Cromwell	Regina Little Theatre	Regina	A Man For all Seasons	Robert Bolt

			Chocolate Moose			
1998	Joe Wills	Jacob Mercer	Theatre, Inc.	Moose Jaw	Of the Fields Lately	David French
1997	Bud Stilling	Harry Raymond	Saskatoon Gateway Players	Saskatoon	The Stillborn Lover	Timothy Findley
1996	Joe Wills	Roy Caulder	Chocolate Moose Theatre, Inc.	Moose Jaw	Pink Thunderbird	James McLure
1995	Paul Hack	Daniel Brand	Saskatoon Gateway Players	Saskatoon	Paris is Out	Richard Seff
1995	Gordon Bland	Jake Tomlinson	Prince Albert Community Players	Prince Albert	More Fun Than Bowling	Steven Dietz
1994	Jim Hadfield	Grandpa Abner Hatcher	Milestone Prairie Players	Milestone	Grandpa's Twin Sister	Jean Provence
1993	Roy Challis	Weller Martin	Battlefords Community Players	The Battlefords	The Gin Game	D.L. Coburn
1992	Jim Hadfield Gary Sambrook	Tom Buckle Bill Buckle	Milestone Prairie Players	Milestone	Lie, Cheat and Genuflect	William Van Zandt & Jane Milmore
1991	Jim Hadfield	Harry Lambert	Milestone Prairie Players	Milestone	Never Too Late	Sumner Arthur Long
1990	David Allen	Tom Garrison	Regina Little Theatre	Regina	I Never Sang for my Father	R. Anderson
1989	Glen Toews	Jaanus Karkulainen	Snakebite Players	Beechy	The Ship Builder	Ken Mitchell
1988	Jim Walls	Sam	Melfort Amateur Dramatics	Melfort	Echoes	Richard Nash
1987	James Hosking	Andrew Wyke	Crocus 80	Weyburn	Sleuth	Anthony Shaffer
1986	Bud Stilling	Willy Loman	Saskatoon Gateway Players	Saskatoon	Death of a Salesman	Arthur Miller
1985	Patrick French	Bri	Moose Jaw Community Players	Moose Jaw	A Day in the Death of Joe Egg	Peter Nichols
1984	James Hosking	Sidney Bruhl	Crocus 80	Weyburn	Death Trap	Ira Levin
1983	Peter Kooy	Trevor	Saskatoon Gateway Players	Saskatoon	Bedroom Farce	Alan Ayckbourn
1982	Wilfred Dube	Lèopold	Unithèâtre	Saskatoon	A Toi, Pour Toujours, Ta Marie- Lou	Michel Tremblay
1981	Dennis Hunt	Sir William Boothroyd	Saskatoon Gateway Players	Saskatoon	Lloyd George Knew my Father	William Douglas Home
1980	Jeff Lumby	Charlie	Moose Jaw Community Players	Moose Jaw	Flowers for Algernon	David Rogers
1979	Roy Challis	Salesman	Battlefords Community Players	The Battlefords	A Visitor from Charleston	Erika Ritter
1978	Roy Challis	Edgar	Battlefords Community Players	The Battlefords	Play Strindberg	Friedrick Durrenmatt
1977	David Edney	Bri	Saskatoon Gateway Players	Saskatoon	A Day in the Death of Joe Egg	Peter Nichols
1976	Brian O'Hara	John Proctor	Swift Current Little Theatre	Swift Current	The Crucible	Arthur Miller
1975	Bill Powell	Philip Markham	Regina Little Theatre	Regina	Move Over Mrs. Markham	Ray Cooney & John Chapman
1974	Frank Hoppenbrouwer s	Yank	Riverside Players (Sask Penetentiary)	Prince Albert	Under the Spreading Chestnut Trees	L. Emkeit

1973	George Stonyk	Henry Thoreau	Saskatoon Gateway Players	Saskatoon	The Night Thoreau Spend in Jail	J. Lawrence and Robert E. Lee
1972	Brian O'Hara	Joe Keller	Swift Current Little Theatre	Swift Current	All My Sons	Arthur Miller
1971	Brian O'Hara	H.C. Curry	Swift Current Little Theatre	Swift Current	The Rainmaker	N. Richard Nash
1970	Ken Bolton	George	Regina Little Theatre	Regina	Who's Afraid of Virginia Woolf?	Edward Albee
1969	Bill Powell	Paul Bratter	Regina Little Theatre	Regina	Barefoot in the Park	Neil Simon
1968	J. Farnham Howarth	Perry Wallace	Prince Albert Community Players	Prince Albert	The Nightmare	Jean Lee Latham
1967	Kim McCaw	Bibi	Regina Little Theatre	Regina	The Happy Time	Samuel Taylor
1966	Howard Dallin	Captain Fisby	Gateway Theatre	Saskatoon	The Teahouse of August Moon	John Patrick
1965			NO FESTIVAL WAS HELD		(Not enough entries)	
1964	Bill Butler	Hercules	Regina Little Theatre	Regina	Rape of the Belt	Benn. W. Levy
1963	Douglas Cowan	Gregers Werle	Regina Little Theatre	Regina	The Wild Duck	Henrik Ibsen
1962	Geoffry Bennett	Adam	R.C.A.F Station	Moose Jaw	Adam the Creator	Karel & Josef Capek
1961	Ken Lewis	Paul Deville	Swift Current Little Theatre	Swift Current	Marriage-Go-Round	Leslie Stevens
1960	Douglas Cowan	Francis Monnerie	Swift Current Little Theatre	Swift Current	The Hidden River	Ruth & Augustus Goetz
1959	Al McLennan	Luhan	Regina Little Theatre	Regina	Monsterrat	Emmanuel Robles, adapted by Lillian Hellman